City Hall Tower
Address: Oradea, Piata Unirii. No.1-2
The Tourist Information Center in the City Hall Tower of Oradea is the first tourist information point in Oradea created after 1989.
The City Hall Tower is located in the wing of the building facing the Tudor Vladimirescu street and has a height of about 50 m. It has four main levels, three for panorama purpose.
In the Fist Level is the horologe mechanism – called “mother clock”. The Clock at the highest altitude, plays at fixed hours the “March of Iancu” and it was built in the early twentieth century, in 1904 by a watchmaker named Mezey Dezső.
Currently the clock from The City Hall Tower is cared for by Csaba Sándor Nagy. Thanks to him, the operation mode of the clock has changed since 1992. If until 1992 inertia from the weight worked the clock and the pendulum, the pendulum is now electronically controlled, resulting movements of the axles and gears to his pointers dials.
The clock consists of four parts – the dials, located at the top on each side of the lens. The dial in front, facing the river Criş, was made of thick glass, named glass of milk and had rear illumination. After the war, in 1944, the front dial was changed and the glass replaced with a sheet of tin, as was done for the other quadrants.
The clock has survived two world wars, and the roof and wall of the tower survived two fires, the first in 1917 and the second in 1944. The clock face retains even today the bullet holes from the war in 1944.
Level II presents a panorama from 33.85 m. In the ” File of Bihor’s firefighters history ” Volume II, published in 2001, was stated that in 1904, the point of observation for city fires moves to the new building of the Town Hall tower, announcing with the knocking on the bell, according to the area where the fire started – 2 beats New Town, West Olosig (ret) 3 beats, 4 beats Olosig East, Velenta 5 beats and Velenta South 6 beats. On the observation tower, in the daytime there was a red flag on the direction of the fire, and a electric reflector at night.
The third level, at 40.25 m, on the balcony parapet are mounted more functional huge hammers that beat three times every quarter of an hour.
The forth level enables detailed observation of the landmarks in the downtown area with a telescope. Access to this level can be achieved in a number of maximum of 5 persons due to space limitation.