Following the renaissance of the town in the pre-modern and modern period, during the eighteenth century, the political and administrative center moved westward around the Fortress of Oradea, on the current location of the Union Square, at the west end of the former medieval district called the Saturday Fair / Forum (Forum Sabbatho). There have emerged a number of establishments, offices and centers of church parish institutions that made nucleus of the New Town to take shape on the left bank of the river Crişului Repede.
In the central square of the district called New Town were build the first Roman Catholic Episcopal Church from 1720-1741 The Orthodox Church of ” Adormirea Maicii Domnului” in 1794 and the Greek Catholic Church from 1800 to 1810.
The fund built in the Union Square area is a valuable and quite heterogeneous both in terms of architectural styles represented here (baroque, classical, eclectic, istorizant, Secession, modernist) and on adopted spatial configurations accents and height arrangements.
The Western Front is dominated by two representative buildings: the Town Hall built in a neo-renaissance style in 1901-1904 by the architect Kálmán Rimanóczy and Greek Catholic Bishop Palace, built between 1903-1905 according to the plans of the same architect. The Kovács House, located at the southeast corner of St. Paul and Union Square is the most remarkable civil building built in the early nineteenth century in Neoclassical style.
The Northeastern corner of Union Square is marked by the Black Eagle Palace building, the most emblematic monument of the Oradean Secession, with a complex spatial configuration and lechnerian styled facades, the work of architects Komor Marcell and Jakab Dezső (1907-1908) .
The eastern frontage is comprise in the southern half of two buildings with different characteristics: a two-story modernist house at no. 8 built in the 1930s on the site of an eclectic buildings with neo-Renaissance elements, designed by architect Rimanóczy Kálmán and the P+3 at No. 3., the Moskovits Palace, which occupies two unified plots and is one of the most important architectural monuments in the city center, the creation of architects László and József Vágó, representative of Austrian version of the Secession.
The Ferdinand Square is composed by several cultural monuments and art with many architectural styles (classical, neo-classicist, eclectic, secession).
The architectural edifice that dominant the Ferdinand Square throw its eclectic style is the National Theatre “Regina Maria”, built in 1900. The facade is decorated with neoclassical and neo-renaissance elements and the Neo-Baroque and secession styles prevail inside. After completion of works at the National Theatre in 1900 began the erection of the Bazaar building, which has the main facade on the Republicii street. A massive building, dominated by an imposing symmetry and frontispiece built in eclectic style.
The Western Front is dominated by three buildings: Hotel Astoria, located at the intersection of the Ferdinand Square with the Theatre Street, is also realized in eclectic style.
Hotel Transylvania is located near Hotel Astoria, built between 1903-1904 in eclectic style with strong imprints conferred by the secession style. Next the House of Savings of the County is also built in an eclectic style. On the opposite side, in the south-eastern edge of the square is the Levay Palace, situated on the banks of the river Crisul Repede. Built between 1892 – 1894 in the classical style with some constructive elements of early eclecticism. The last Ferdinand Square architectural monument is the Poynar House. The building has many specific secession style elements secession style, such as overhangs and curved gables, vegetal and zoomorphic decoration, decorative buttons.