Biserica Sf. Ladislau
‘Saint Ladislaus’ Church
  • Architecture – Baroque Style
  • Built – 1720-1733
  • Architect – Franciscus Suszter

Situated in Unirii Square on the left bank of the river that flows through the town of Oradea, the church is considered one of the most important late-Baroque buildings in the area. The construction work started around 1720, under Bishop Csáky Imre, and the inscription above the entrance indicates that it was finished in 1733. In reality, this construction knew several stages and took much longer. For instance, there is concrete evidence that the sacristy and its two chambers were built only in 1739 and the tower, in late-Baroque style, was completed only between 1790 and 1800.

There isn’t much information about the constructors of this place of worship in provincial, simple but elegant Baroque style. There is no clue regarding its architect, and among the workers the only known name is that of chief constructor Fránciscus Suszter. It is important to highlight that until 1780, when the Roman-Catholic basilica was consecrated, St.Ladislaus church served as a Roman-Catholic cathedral, facilitating the transition between the old cathedral from the Citadel and the present one, from the Baroque Complex.

Dedicated to the healer saint (miracle worker) and founder of the settlement, the church develops in its interior, especially across the ceiling, representing the most important events of the saint’s life, the legend of the foundation, the legend of his death and burial in the Citadel of Oradea and the moment of his canonization. These motifs are present on the main entrance door, which has recently been restored, where one can observe metal engravings of the same legendary-historical moments.

Furthermore, we mention that its interior holds the oldest altar in Oradea, dating back to 1730, still functioning in the same shape to the present day.