Biserica “cu Lună
The Moon Church
  • Architecture – Baroque
  • Built – 1784-1832
  • Architect – Iacob Eder

The church ‘The Assumption of Mary’, also known as ‘The Moon Church’ is located in front of the Greek-Catholic cathedral, in the South-East corner of Unirii Square.
Construction work at this church started in November 1784, when Transylvania was troubled by one of the most powerful peasant movements. The architect who drew the plan of the church was Iácob Eder and the entrepreneur behind it, Ioann Lins. The walls were erected in 1790 and on 17th November of the same year the first mass was celebrated here. The consecration of the church took place much later, more than four decades after, in 1832, when the interior painting was also finalized.

The style of this church is late-Baroque with marked Classical elements, but also with a strong indigenous, provincial influence. The interior is confined to the rigid norms of spatial development of the Byzantine style, and it rigorously follows the canons of this church. On the iconostasis there used to be a painting of Horea, one of the leaders of the 1784 riot, which many historians believed to be the only accurate representation of his face. Nowadays, it has been replaced with a copy and the original is to be found in the Orthodox Bishopric’s Museum of Oradea.

It is also known as the ‘Moon church’ due to the mechanism installed in the church tower in 1793. The clock and the moon are the masterpiece of a creative mechanic from Oradea, Georg Rueppert. The mechanism that spins the moon is supposed to complete a full rotation around its axis in 28 days, indicating the moon phases, according to the daily cycle marked by the clock mechanism. On the anchor wheel of the clock one can read even today, in German, the name of the author: ‘Georg Rueppert in Grosswardein, 1793′ (Georg Rueppert in Oradea, 1793)