City Hall Palace
THE CITY HALL BUILDING
- Architectural Style – eclectic
- Built – 1902-1903
- Architect – Rimánoczy Kálmán jr.
(No. 1 Unirii Square) is the work (design and execution) of architect Rimánoczy Kálmán jr, who won the 1896 design contest for the new City Hall headquarters. The construction of this monumental edifice begins with the demolition of the old Episcopal residence, in the year 1901. The cornerstone is set in February 1902. In October 1903, the building is inaugurated and put into service. The clock tower, the façade with its wealth of architectural elements (pilasters, colonnades, balconies, arches, the carriageable portico and until recently the allegorical statuary group) were carefully crafted by the designer-builder. They are also highlighted by the relatively classical and compositionally modest side wings. The clock tower served as a watch tower for the city’s firefighters. Ironically, in 1944, the tower itself, but also the roof and the top floor were engulfed in flames. They have been rebuilt.