Palatul Copiilor
The Children’s Palace
  • Architecture – Eclectic Style
  • Built – 1895-1896
  • Architect – Rimánoczy Kálmán sr.

Located in the proximity of Central Station and the Baroque Complex, the current Children’s Palace was initially built as a headquarters for the Archaeological and Historical Society. As such, this building was the first “legitimate” museum in Oradea and the crowning result of the efforts of the Archaeological and Historical Society of Bihor.

Work on this building began when the Society was founded (1872), its purpose being the provision of an optimal space for displaying the members’ private collections. Nineteen years later, in 1891, the Roman Catholic bishop, Laurentius Schlauch, granted the archaeologists and historians of Oradea the land necessary for the construction of the building.

The building, its design and construction, belong to the famous architect-engineer Rimánoczy Kálmán senior. His style is eclectic. An observer can see how, at least on the side of the building prominently featuring a central avant-corps, neo-classical elements such as Ionic column capitals, an architrave, frieze, and the triangular pediment pleasantly and harmoniously coexist with features characteristic of the Renaissance, such as rectangular windows and aediculae. The building was completed in 1895.

It is interesting to note that the current Muzeului Street was built specifically to ensure access to the museum, under construction at the time.