Tourist Information Points
Tourist Information Center – The Fortress of Oradea was inaugurated on 11 November 2003 as a result of the”Rebirth of a Legend” project, funded under the “Living legacy.” Program”.
Tourist Information Center (TIC) functions as a part of the Department for the Maintenance of the Fortress under the Administration of the Property Patrimony Oradea (API) subordinated to the Local Council of Oradea.
Tourist Information Center is to promote the Fortress of Oradea as a historical, architecture and a cultural secular value in the European context.
The offer of the Tourist Information Center includes:
- Organizing visits to the Oradea Fortress (including guidance, distributing information and promotional materials)
- Providing information on accommodation options, meals, services and tourism programs in Oradea and the Apuseni Mountains.
Our beneficiaries are organized or individual tourists, young people (pupils, students).
We work with the local travel agencies in neighboring counties of Bihor – Hajdu-Bihar and Carpathian Euroregion, the Tarii Crisurilor Museum, The School Inspectorate of Bihor, Cluj, Arad, Satu Mare, the University of Oradea, County Department of Cults, Culture and National Cultural Heritage Bihor, County Council of Bihor, County Prefecture of Bihor, numerous NGOs, local administrations from other cities in Romania.
Address: Oradea, Piata Unirii. No.1-2
The Tourist Information Center in the City Hall Tower of Oradea is the first tourist information point in Oradea created after 1989.
The City Hall Tower is located in the wing of the building facing the Tudor Vladimirescu street and has a height of about 50 m. It has four main levels, three for panorama purpose.
In the Fist Level is the horologe mechanism – called “mother clock”. The Clock at the highest altitude, plays at fixed hours the “March of Iancu” and it was built in the early twentieth century, in 1904 by a watchmaker named Mezey Dezső.
Currently the clock from The City Hall Tower is cared for by Csaba Sándor Nagy. Thanks to him, the operation mode of the clock has changed since 1992. If until 1992 inertia from the weight worked the clock and the pendulum, the pendulum is now electronically controlled, resulting movements of the axles and gears to his pointers dials.
The clock consists of four parts – the dials, located at the top on each side of the lens. The dial in front, facing the river Criş, was made of thick glass, named glass of milk and had rear illumination. After the war, in 1944, the front dial was changed and the glass replaced with a sheet of tin, as was done for the other quadrants.
The clock has survived two world wars, and the roof and wall of the tower survived two fires, the first in 1917 and the second in 1944. The clock face retains even today the bullet holes from the war in 1944.
Level II presents a panorama from 33.85 m. In the ” File of Bihor’s firefighters history ” Volume II, published in 2001, was stated that in 1904, the point of observation for city fires moves to the new building of the Town Hall tower, announcing with the knocking on the bell, according to the area where the fire started – 2 beats New Town, West Olosig (ret) 3 beats, 4 beats Olosig East, Velenta 5 beats and Velenta South 6 beats. On the observation tower, in the daytime there was a red flag on the direction of the fire, and a electric reflector at night.
The third level, at 40.25 m, on the balcony parapet are mounted more functional huge hammers that beat three times every quarter of an hour.
The forth level enables detailed observation of the landmarks in the downtown area with a telescope. Access to this level can be achieved in a number of maximum of 5 persons due to space limitation.
Address: Oradea, Str. Patriots No. 2
Bihor Tourist Information National Centre targets Romanian and foreign tourists, especially visitors of the town of Oradea and the county, and foreign residents in Romania, in order to capitalize on the natural, historic and cultural patrimony of the district of Bihor in particular and of Romania in general, for inclusion in the tourist circuit and promoting them in order to attract tourists.
Bihor Tourist Information Center on Patriotilor Street is in planning and modernization stage. This building is part of the heritage of the County Council.